With an eye on the food allergy community as a unique group of consumers since 2008, we're on a quest to find and share ways to continue enjoying the good things in life.

14 March 2012

Food Allergy Leaders: Press Release from FAAN

Please see the below press release from FAAN yesterday. Congratulations to all the award winners!

Tuesday, March 13, 2012

Winners of the Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network’s Annual Awards 
Are Making a Difference in the Food Allergy Community

Recipients Raise Awareness, Advocate for Others

Fairfax, VA – The Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network (FAAN) is pleased to announce the winners of the 16thAnnual Mariel C. Furlong Awards for Making a Difference as well as the Grandparent Awards and Youth Special Achievement Awards.
Each recipient of FAAN’s annual awards is being recognized for their tireless efforts on behalf of the food allergy community in the areas of awareness, education, and advocacy.
“We’re so grateful for these incredibly dedicated support group leaders, educators, grandparents, healthcare professionals, and companies who have truly demonstrated their commitment to improving the lives of individuals with food allergies in many ways,” said Eleanor Garrow, FAAN’s Vice President of Education and Outreach. “I’m also happy to honor some very special youths who are taking the initiative to make an impact at such a young age.”
This year’s winners and categories:
Community Service - Support Group
  • Thanita Glancey – Ashburn, Va.
  • Sherée Godwin – Madison, Wis.
  • Wendy Wessel – Brooklyn Park, Minn.
Community Service – Other
  • Denise Mitchell –Lincoln, Neb.
  • Michael and Janet Schwartz – Massapequa, NY  
Food Industry
  • Red Robin – Rockaway, NJ
  • Via 45 – Red Bank, NJ
School Principal
  • Cheryl Damato –Morgan Hill, Calif.  
School Nurse
  • Rita Molloy –Medford, NY.
School (Other)
  • Brenda White – Milwaukee, Wis.
  • Inly School – Scituate, Mass.
Grandparent Awards
  • Jeanne Feldman –Pittsford, NY
  • Brenda Statzer –Martinsville, Ind.
  • Rita Wilson – Clearwater, Fla.
Youth Special Achievement Awards
  • Jennifer and Rachel Braun – Napersville, Ill.
  • Lauren Maunus – Palm City, Fla..
  • Brett Nasuti – Upton, Mass.  
  • Corey Shive – Lansdale, Pa.
The annual Mariel C. Furlong Awards for Making a Difference were created in 1996 to honor individuals and corporations who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to make a difference in the lives of individuals with food allergies. The awards are named after Mariel Christine Furlong, daughter of Anne Muñoz-Furlong, the founder of FAAN. Please refer to addendum for information on why these outstanding individuals were nominated.
The awards will be presented at FAAN’s 19th Annual Food Allergy Conferences in Oak Brook, IL on March 31, Tarrytown, NY on April 28, and Anaheim, CA on June 9. For more information on food allergies, please visit www.foodallergy.org.

No comments: